This is a self portrait that I did in acrylic and ink. First I started by sketching in pencil on the blank jigsaw base. Then I added the flesh tones – I find that acrylic tends to be more luminous than watercolour, so I mixed more yellow and less pink than I otherwise would have. Next I went over the pencil in black ink – some artists don’t like black outlines as they feel this gives a piece more of a cartoonish look, but I like the contrast.

Leilanie Stewart: self-portrait in acrylic and ink

Leilanie Stewart: self-portrait in acrylic and ink

Next I added the darker tones without losing the highlights (in cheeks, eyes etc). Of course, in this piece, I lost the highlights in the hair – I’m not as accomplished an artist as I might have been had I not been so lazy! Anyway voila – finished product in less than an hour.

About this blog

Leilanie Stewart

Joseph Robert

About Leilanie Stewart

Leilanie Stewart is a writer, poet and literary blogger. Her debut poetry pamphlet, A Model Archaeologist, was launched in 2015 with Eyewear Publishing. She is a prize nominated poet, having been longlisted for the Melita Hume Poetry Prize 2014, and her poetry and fiction was selected for the 'Best of the Web' Storm Cycle Anthology 2014, published by Kind of a Hurricane Press. Leilanie is also Editor in Chief of Bindweed Magazine, a poetry and fiction online magazine that also publishes a quarterly print anthology. She currently lives in London with her writer and poet husband, Joseph Robert. Literary blog: https://leilaniestewart.wordpress.com/ Meandi Books: http://meandibooks.bigcartel.com/ Bindweed Magazine: https://bindweedmagazine.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

