Has it really been a month? It seems like I was writing my ‘poetry this month’ about my publications in Boy Slut Magazine only the other day, but as it happens, that was 4 weeks ago!

Three of my poems are out in The Blue Hour this month. This lot are quite detached and dreamlike. Hold on a minute… my poems are always quite detached and dreamlike. A little bit of Greek mythology thrown in there somewhere? Oh well, I have an excuse, I was an archaeologist once upon a time in a land far, far away. And did I say detached? Only my head, that is. I’ve either had too much caffeine, or not enough.

Now that we’ve cleared that up, what a month! Is it just me, or do publishing schedules seem to come in waves? A few places I’ve looked into for submitting purposes are closed for their reading periods at the mo. I guess a lot of editors/ writers work in schools. Summer is the best time to get writing. As much as the papers always complain about working in education, at least the long holidays are a good time to knuckle down on one’s own projects. And of course, if you put all your eggs in different baskets, you never know how many will hatch – and into what. Personally I’d rather have an object that looks like an egg but is actually a lump of dalmatiner jasper. It might look spotty and it might be weird, but it sure lasts a long time.

An egg of every colour - don't put them all in one basket!

An egg of every colour – don’t put them all in one basket!

About Leilanie Stewart

Leilanie Stewart is a writer, poet and literary blogger. Her debut poetry pamphlet, A Model Archaeologist, was launched in 2015 with Eyewear Publishing. She is a prize nominated poet, having been longlisted for the Melita Hume Poetry Prize 2014, and her poetry and fiction was selected for the 'Best of the Web' Storm Cycle Anthology 2014, published by Kind of a Hurricane Press. Leilanie is also Editor in Chief of Bindweed Magazine, a poetry and fiction online magazine that also publishes a quarterly print anthology. She currently lives in London with her writer and poet husband, Joseph Robert. Literary blog: https://leilaniestewart.wordpress.com/ Meandi Books: http://meandibooks.bigcartel.com/ Bindweed Magazine: https://bindweedmagazine.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

