Novel research

Novel research

This month, I’m very excited to have finished the final draft of my second novel. It’s a fantasy novel this time, which I started writing in the summer of 2013. After a week of research, I wrote the first draft in a month during my summer holiday break from the secondary school where I worked. In total I wrote 3 drafts as follows:

Draft 1: getting the basic plot & characterisation in a comprehensible story

Draft 2: Tightening up the character arcs and checking consistency with plot and character motivation (as it is a fantasy novel)

Draft 3: now that everything in draft 2 & 2 is complete, punching up the storyline to add more action

Phew… And since draft 3 is also my final draft, I’m hoping that once my editor has gone through the manuscript with his red pen, the final check will involve a copy-edit and some polish, then…done. Two years seems like a long time in the making, but I’d rather be thorough and do it right than rush it – and have to flush it. And with my first book, a literary novel, still making the rounds with agents and publishers (I never simultaneously submit. I have my 6 week rule, which is a slow process – but thorough), it’s good to always keep looking to the next writing project. Onwards and upwards!

About Leilanie Stewart

Leilanie Stewart is a writer, poet and literary blogger. Her debut poetry pamphlet, A Model Archaeologist, was launched in 2015 with Eyewear Publishing. She is a prize nominated poet, having been longlisted for the Melita Hume Poetry Prize 2014, and her poetry and fiction was selected for the 'Best of the Web' Storm Cycle Anthology 2014, published by Kind of a Hurricane Press. Leilanie is also Editor in Chief of Bindweed Magazine, a poetry and fiction online magazine that also publishes a quarterly print anthology. She currently lives in London with her writer and poet husband, Joseph Robert. Literary blog: https://leilaniestewart.wordpress.com/ Meandi Books: http://meandibooks.bigcartel.com/ Bindweed Magazine: https://bindweedmagazine.wordpress.com/

One response »

  1. […] Draft 3 took another month to complete by April 2014: finally ironing out plotholes. At this point, I thought the novel was complete – you can read my optimistic blog post here! […]

Leave a Reply

